I MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 34

Introduced by:

Tina Rose Muña Barnes v. c. pangelinan <u>R. J. Respicio</u> Frank F. Blas, Jr. Edward J.B. Calvo James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan A. B. Palacios, Sr. David L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio A. R. Unpingco J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating Ms. Lourdes "Lou" Leon Guerrero for receiving the U.S. Small Business Administration's "2007 Small Business Awards, Women In Business Champion of the Year," and to recognizing her exceptional achievements and her civic contributions to Guam.

1BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I2MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was 4 established in 1953 to provide financial, technical, and management assistance to small businesses encourage their expansion and sustain their growth
 throughout the nation's states and territories; and

WHEREAS, America's estimated 25.8 million small businesses employ more than half of the nation's private work force; generate more than half of the nation's gross domestic product and are the principal source of new jobs in the U.S. economy; and

WHEREAS, Guam's estimated three thousand (3,000) business
establishments contribute forty-one percent (41%) to the island's total monthly
payroll, accounting for nearly forty-three thousand (43,000) employees in the
private sector; and

11 WHEREAS, the SBA first opened its Guam Branch Office in 1962, and it 12 provides loan guarantees to participating lending institutions in Guam for the 13 island's small businesses, thus ensuring the needed capital to maintain the 14 viability of small business concerns, adding to our island's local tax base and 15 providing employment opportunities; and

WHEREAS, since 1990, the SBA Guam Branch Office has participated in the annual nationwide SBA "Small Business Awards" program, recognizing the achievements of both Guam's small business owners and those advocates of small business in Guam, and providing aspiring island entrepreneurs with successful role models; and

21 WHEREAS, this year's "2007 Guam Women in Business Champion of 22 the Year", Ms. Lourdes "Lou" Leon Guerrero is the President and Chief 23 Executive Officer of the Bank of Guam; and

2

1 WHEREAS, as a five (5)-term Senator of the Guam Legislature, she was 2 a strong advocate for women's rights and has advocated opportunities for 3 women in health, education, and business; and

4

WHEREAS, as a Senator, she also championed the indigent, the 5 disabled, the elderly, and the Chamorros in their fight for equality; and

6 WHEREAS, she has supported efforts to allow persons with disabilities 7 to become self-sufficient entrepreneurs and efforts to diversify the island's 8 economy using Guam's natural resources; and

9 WHEREAS, she has worked with various women's organizations in 10 Guam such as the Soroptimist International of the Marianas and the 11 government's Family Violence Task Force; and

12 WHEREAS, her recent partnership with the Guam Small Business 13 Development Center (SBDC) in continuing the Women In Business Program 14has provided many financial opportunities to women in business; now, therefore, be it 15

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ñuebi Na 16 17 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 18 people of Guam, congratulate Ms. Lourdes "Lou" Leon Guerrero for receiving 19 the U.S. Small Business Administration's "2007 Small Business Awards, 20 Women In Business Champion of the Year," and recognizes her exceptional 21 achievements and her civic contributions to Guam; and be it further

22 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 23 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 24 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Lourdes

"Lou" Leon Guerrero; to the Bank of Guam; to the Small Business
 Administration; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 15^{TH} DAY OF FEBRUARY 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature